top of page
  • Writer's pictureShivani Gautam

Bedtime Groove!

Hello people!


Writing for Meraki and Musings today feels like rising from a grave, much because my existence in this space was dead for the past few days that quickly turned into weeks and months, and they would have eventually turned into years too, but someone had to pull the lever on that, right?


Otherwise I’d have let the monotony of my regular life eat over my passion and that’s dangerous, to say the least to oneself. But you should keep saying that to yourself every night before going to bed, even if you’re going to do absolutely nothing about it the next morning. That’s how you survive, delusions are the rescue when the days of ignorance are by-gone.


So let's get to the point. Have you ever rediscovered an old favorite playlist?


Well who am I kidding, of-course you have!


We all live for the nostalgia of an old favorite playlist resurfacing after years of abandon because we were so hooked on to it when we first discovered the grooves and the beats and the relatable/hard hitting lyrics that we couldn't put it down before exhausting all our capacity to assimilate the taste out of them.


But years only age a playlist better. We outgrow artists, musicians and genres but we never outgrow a playlist. We keep coming back, or at-least unknowingly hope to.



In that sense, I realized that with changing phones, changing streaming services and changing platforms, I might lose track of these carefully crafted playlists that are perfect tools to rewind and replay my current state of existence, years later. And like a hoe for nostalgia that I am, I decided to why not curate them and share it with you guys here.


Now here’s a little disclaimer.


I am not a very good “music recommendations” person; I actually just listen to the songs recommended to me by friends, parents, cousins or recently just Spotify but in my defense, I did play DJ, or the sounds guy, or the music in-charge, whatever you call-it, on several social gatherings in my college days and at family functions. I get to do it even now in virtual parties. All this is to say that I might not have an ear for the details of music, but I do understand the vibes.


And for the feels of this entire nine months in lockdown, I have curated a playlist called Bedtime Groove that basically has every song that was my jam from each month of 2020. I know December is yet to arrive, but who cares for the pity technical details like this when you're so excited to share music.



Here's a Spotify playlist that you can play in the background while having an existential crisis or just dreaming of a very exciting life post lockdown.

I'd recommend not being in love but desperately wanting to be in it to be truly enjoying this, but that's something you can skip if you have a good imagination. Also, dim lights and a quiet room will pull the trigger on your feels. And don’t worry, the grooves are well sequenced to draw you closer to a goodnight’s sleep.

On that note, a big shout out to these three artists that literally saved me in 2020 – if you haven’t spotted them till now, go ahead and click on their individual playlists for some slow, acoustic, lo-fi feel-good songs. You can thank me later!

Anthony Lazaro - your soft, acoustic, feel-good and mellow English songs fix for cozy winter naps, think of him as a sadder Prateek Kuhaad



Anuv Jain - his counter-part in Hindi, good for your evening chai sessions and for just watching rain drops fall from your window



Shamoon Ismail - the electronic kinda chill-house, kinda lo-fi groove with shallow Punjabi lyrics that make emotional breakdowns, a tad bit fun in a dark room and make-shift disco light club scene


So get inside your blanket kiddos, and vibe away! And once you’ve indulged, let me know your favorites. Feel free to share your personal recommendations in the comments, always hungry for some good music.


PS. I won’t judge you based on your music choices. My spectrum varies from Hum Tum by Prakriti and Sukriti Kakar to Hallelujah by Jeff Buckley, with all the Pink Flyods, Taylor Swifts and Linkin Parks in between.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page