top of page
  • Writer's pictureShivani Gautam

It's Debatable! : Is it worth it?

Updated: May 31, 2020


Hello and welcome to a brand new section of the blog - It's Debatable! And as the title suggests, I'm going to put forth my views in favor and against of having introduced this section, which formerly did not exist in my blog.


After having lived a month in the trying times of a pandemic where I also had a well-established medium solely to express my views, I realized that most of the times I am never even aware of the full picture/scenario related to a topic/event that's happening worldwide or just looping around in my mind. I don't know all the sides and faces of arguments, key issues and pros and cons.


As such, any opinion I have, even if it's compelling and earnest in its' intention, leaves me feeling unsure of its' authenticity and legitimacy on this forum. And so, there arises the need to have a place on the blog where I can present my ongoing findings on these pressing issues of past, present and future and weigh the two sides of the argument in the company of my readers who also happen to be active thinkers. After all, there's no harm in that.


Moreover, growth is a gradual process and this blog will, over the years, evolve and change from what was envisioned and conceived of it, one day in the back of my mind, as it should, in order to be relinquished and relevant. So, why not roll with the punches already?


These were my reasons, to add this section. But on the flip side, there were doubts that had held me for so long and you have a right to know them, which is to say, I feel like to balance my pros I need to add a few of the cons so it might justify the amendment I'm making to my dream baby blog.


I have a fear, as a writer of eliciting thoughts, feelings or actions through my words and the interpretations they inspire that maybe harmful or simply unjust, inaccurate or too good to be true. This word play is suited in constructing metaphors and poetry but prose is much more powerful and the freedom that you can take with it is limited. So if I have raw, unpolished opinions, they might end up in wrong places with wrong interpretations.


Also, who likes arguments and debates? So old school and nerdy. Why would anyone care for my views on controversial topics? Aren't there writers and reporters doing that job already? Is a new voice really needed? Isn't this blog supposed to be a happy place?

These are few of the questions that circumnavigate my foggy cloud of doubt. And it would be a lie if I say to you that I have all the answers to these questions. Maybe you do!


"But necessity is the mother of invention; a happiness without the truth is an ignorant bliss; and what is fear anyway, other than an obstacle to your end goal." So I said this to myself, and decided to rather experience and be sorry than not and regret later. I might be right after all, or I might not; but if I'm meaning no harm, then how far can I go along the road of wrong meanings and interpretations?


Thank you for reading a rant! I promise my next argumentative essay is going to feel more like one. I've a few topics in mind, let me know if there's any special interest in the comments. Thank you for your time and patience, have a good day.

29 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page