top of page
  • Writer's pictureShivani Gautam

Die Inside A Song

Updated: May 29, 2020

A compelling poem of teen angst, unrest and uproar; this poem deals with the quest for identity, meaning and purpose that first takes hold of any young adult as his brain vessels the jostling conscience. Here's the poem for you.



I’m looking for something I wouldn’t ever find.

Yet I’ll look for it in the whole world, but my mind.

My search isn’t futile, because I believe: its appearance

Could be kindled only by something that lies outside this shell.

So I drive my search for peace in this hell.

I don’t know if what I look for

Is a person or a story?

Or merely the sight and the scenery?

But all I know is that: it’s a dream,

And a purpose.

It’s my beauty and my reality.

It would bring to me my soul and its versatility.

It’s not the mirror, I look into,

To find what lies inside. It’s in your eyes

Or in the land of unknown

Where I carry my pursuit to.

I don’t look like I’m a vagabond.

I’m still a part of the rat-race.

You would like to call it meaningless;

I would like to too. But it’s the so-called reality,

I still, to survive, have to hold fast to.

Or else, I find myself lifting and drifting up to

Majestical gates of dangerous lands.

They flaunt to me the freedom I seek.

Yet a voice inside says, “It’s not the right place to peep.”

For if I get driven by my desires,

I’ll drive this life crazy.

And if I ain’t doing that,

I’m running myself dizzy.

It isn’t a question, let me tell you;

Because no answers are guaranteed.

It’s a search of your own, for your own,

A dangerous ocean to dive deep.

It’s a journey to destinations unknown.

No road that takes you, back home.

Yet your soul drives you to that Throne,

That’s waiting all the way, for you.

You get allured by the glitters

And the stars of the land and the sea;

You forget what is right now and

Right there to be.

You would now slip away and become someone else,

Don’t turn your back and better lose your sense.

I don’t know if it’s correct to judge: the right or the wrong;

But if it feels this good, I’m going to live and die, just inside this song.


I hope you had a great time reading this poem. And if you want to stay just a little bit longer, the podcast for this is available here.


Kindly check it out or subscribe it for future updates and episodes. As usual, thank you for your time and attention. I hope this added some value to your life. And have a great day ahead!

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page