top of page
  • Writer's pictureShivani Gautam

Take Me Home

Written years ago when I was going through a news article on terrorist attacks, the feelings of an apocalyptic destruction of innocent civilian life for totally avoidable reasons have been revisited lately, in the light of recent communal riots in India and Sacred Games (watched recently), which is written on the backdrop of historical contexts and show how religion and organised crime work to terrorize lives. This episode is dedicated to those who've ever witnessed a tragedy like this.

Gravel pumps, dynamite runs;

Amidst seclusive narrow consciousness,

A whole city of dreams and hopes,

Million lifetimes of expectations

Turn to ashes and dust.

Blood and tears coagulate streets;

Standing atop his mother’s corpse,

A little boy screams, “Take me home.”

Firing skies, explosions high;

Indecisive conflict of evil commands,

A whole city of fear and torture,

Extolled prayers of survival

Victimize to slurry and ghost.

Wails and blank stares hemorrhage scenes;

Holding his daughter’s motionless fingers,

A broken father screams, “Take me home.”

Take me home, this apocalypse is cruel.

Take me ten seconds away, that misery was still surreal.

This high pitched agony, the baritone of evaporating souls;

The superposition of chaos and calm is exasperating,

Please take me home!

Take me home, take me ten seconds away.

I can live without food, roof or life.

I can’t live without mother, brother and wife.

Take me home, take me ten seconds away.

Give the city back its light and stay

To protect us from the storm.

Hope, don’t leave. Don’t be gone.

I hope this poem brought to your human-self, a little sympathy for those lives that matter as equally as yours. And if you want to stay just a little bit longer with the thought, the podcast for this is available here.


Kindly check it out or subscribe it for future updates and episodes. As usual, thank you for your time and attention. I hope this added some value to your life. And have a great day ahead!


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page