top of page
  • Writer's pictureShivani Gautam

The Fallen Angel

Exploring the themes of an estranged mother daughter relationship, this poem is a layered narrative of a daughters feelings towards her mother who she lately discovers is a sex worker or prostitute. She questions her mother's anger, hatred for herself and fears through a growing up teenager's perspective. Dealing with complicated emotions, this poem is a heart wrenching and eye-opening read in many ways.



‘ It is my fault to be your daughter,

I want to live with this sin.

“Why didn’t you die inside that womb?”

You ask me, raising my chin.

No answers I have for you,

Holding back rivers, I stand.

Raise my chin to meet your gaze,

Wondering at the freeze within.

Hatred for me, flows out in your words.

Sorrow in them, I trace.

‘Tis not anger that separates us.

This fear in your soul that segregates.

Every wrath you spare on me,

Every scorn you wreathe,

Binds my affection to your care;

Though wrapped in loathe, I feel.

For you have scars on your arms,

Burnt is your face; and Dare

Won’t you ever to raise a word

‘Gainst this devil despair.

Loneliness kills us both. Without your hand

Splashing on my face with anger and

Turmoil that the world leaves on you.

You never told me this but now I know.

Unknown faces you bring home each night,

Sell yourself to them and in your bone

That makes you hate me more inside.

But all this I now know, though you never told me so.

All I really want to know is:

Was is it the un-attachment or the fear that I would follow suite?



I hope you had a great time reading this poem. And if you want to stay just a little bit longer, the podcast for this is available here.


Kindly check it out or subscribe it for future updates and episodes. As usual, thank you for your time and attention. I hope this added some value to your life. And have a great day ahead!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page