top of page
  • Writer's pictureShivani Gautam

The Hypothetical Dream

A poem dedicated to all my day-dreams, midnight wanderings, wild lustrous imaginations that took me on marvelous splendid journeys and blessed me with an unparalleled sense of excitement and fervor. To the many Anne Shirley Cuthbert(s) of the world, this poem is a jolly emotional rant.


When reality doesn’t make sense to me,

I try to live it now in a hypothetical dream.

Sometimes they are unabridged,

A candid walk across a room full of enlarged polaroids

That carry unusual knack of charm,

Capable to swallow you;

But all in distaste of no harm.

After all, pennies flow down the river bend in my hometown.

Up here in an exotic picturesque like this,

It’s always flowing: round and round,

Coming back to me in time and space.

It’s poignant, it’s recursive, it’s non-challant

And yet it manages to overthrow everything.

Eccentric! Because out there where you can metaphorize

Tornadoes to the spiral of dull memories

And you at the centre of it, attracting it, sinking in it,

Sinking all of the world in it;

Right there you can possibly do anything that simply.

You don’t need rules, bend them or break them,

Create them or forget the, it’s all same.

It’s all amazing, deep in those valleys

Where you create your own peaks,

And the sun rises to your tips,

Adjusting the stars to the lighting that suits your mood,

And you paint the sky to the world where you exist,

And you alone do.

That’s what it does, the hypothetical dream.

I wonder why I need to come out of it,

Can’t we stay in there?

As long as we wish to…

Why is there a distinction?

The reality and the dreamery…

Marked by the lock at the door of my room.

I don’t lie when I say I have seen different planets

And different galaxies, stars and nebulas,

Storms and strangers,

Palaces and kingdoms…

All at one place, one time-

In a corner of my mind in my room, every night.

I hope you had a great time reading this poem. And if you want to stay just a little bit longer, the podcast for this is available here.


Kindly check it out or subscribe it for future updates and episodes. As usual, thank you for your time and attention. I hope this added some value to your life. And have a great day ahead!

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page