top of page
  • Writer's pictureShivani Gautam

The Other Side of The Road

This poem is about the one time I zoned out while staring out of the window of a school bus, only to later hit upon a weird hypothesis of how human thoughts might work within different layers of our consciousness. Using visual imagery, nature inspired metaphors and parallelism, I have tried to put my thoughts down for you to receive and comprehend.

Don’t get me wrong! When I set my eyes on the other side of the road, It’s not the things that exist there That I see; It’s something else, Maybe nothing more Than all I already know, Or I fancy I know.


I know there is green and black and blue,

A tree, the sky and few birds and houses too.

But they look distant:

As if almost

Their being there has nothing to do with me,

Or mine to them.

But I still discover

In the end,

I’m looking at them,

More so often into them.

How far I look?

How long I look?

No idea, how much time it took

To get out of the trance.

But when I come out;

It’s really walking out of sleep,

With no idea of what you dreamed.

And yet you dreamt it,

That’s for sure!

Because somewhere in your depths

You don’t even know,

A plant keeps growing.

Fed by you,

Seeds somewhere laid in in past,

And you’re not even sure

Until it comes back.

A full circle.

Miraculous conjecture of ideas and dots

And things and thoughts;

But till then, it’s just a large loop,

Widening and bothering as you look-

Somewhere on the other side of the road.

It’s green, it’s blue, and it’s black,

But hardly we care to know.

Maybe there’s something,

Maybe really nothing,

Who knows what it is

On the other side of the road.


I hope you had a great time reading this poem. And if you want to stay just a little bit longer, the podcast for this is available here.


Kindly check it out or subscribe it for future updates and episodes. As usual, thank you for your time and attention. I hope this added some value to your life. And have a great day ahead!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page